Reflection

• What attitudes, skills, and concepts have you gained from participating in the course so far?
I have created accounts in various technology tools that I can see will help my teaching practices this year and next year. I will incorporate a lot of the tools that are offered from the various websites that will allow me to see where my students are during a particular lesson and will help me focus on areas that they are still having problems with. The creation of my own personal learning network has helped me tap into resources that I did not know where out there. I have mastered various tools that are being offered for educators and see so many applications for them this year and in years to come. I can honestly say that my students will benefit from my increased knowledge and use of the tools being offered by the various sites we have visited and started accounts with.
• What have you learned in the course that you will not forget tomorrow?
I have learn that even if I think I know a lot about technology there are others out there that know a little more than I do. Thanks to the creation of my personal learning network I have found so many new tools that I cannot wait to start working with. I know that over summer I will completely reformat my web site and all various activities and tools to my site. My students will benefit and I will be able to produce data showing student growth and understanding before and after taking a quiz or test. This will be extremely important to validate the evaluation that we all know should have and will help me become a better teacher and continue my professional development.
• How will you apply what you have learned to your teaching and future learning?
Again I cannot say enough about how this will improve my teaching style. I can see myself using various other elements in my classes from pods cast to live video sessions with other schools to practice what we have been covering. This will give students more exposure to the subject matter and will help them make connections to what we are learning. Being able to create documents that students can add to in real time will help me see where they are and what I need to focus on more. I am glad that this was part of the program and know that it will help all those that take it.

Leave a Reply

